On Sunday, the 8th annual Melon Music Awards took place in Korea, where the biggest names in K-pop were honored for their contributions to the music industry. Determined by digital sales and the voting public, the winners came out and performed their hits songs on stage at the Gocheok Sky Dome in Seoul, where all in attendance celebrated the acts and their accomplishments in 2016.

Along with the Mnet Asian Music Awards, Golden Disk Awards, and the Seoul Music Awards, the Melon Music Awards is one of the four biggest awards shows in the Korean music industry. But unlike the three others, the Melon Music Awards puts an emphasis on digital sales and fan votes, which explains why this particular show means so much to the performers and fans alike. This year, the major winners were pretty predictable. For Best Artist of the Year, it was EXO, who successfully completed a North American tour in February, and in June, the group released its third studio album, Ex'Act, broke pre-sales records in Korea. One of the singles from the album, "Monster," climbed to the very top spot in Billboard's World Digital Songs chart. For Best Album of the Year, it was BTS, who won for The Most Beautiful Moment in Life: Young Forever. This award was the group's first major award ever, since making their debut in 2013. And also as expected, Twice took home Song of the Year for their smash hit, "Cheer Up," for which the video became the fastest-ever by a Kpop group to each 100 million views on YouTube. Black Pink walked away with Best New Artist, recognized for their hits such as “Whistle,” Boombayah,” “Playing with Fire,” and “Stay.”

Along with the four major categories, 10 acts were included in the Top 10 Artists Awards, which were partly voted in by the fans. This year's winners, in no particular order, were Twice, Taeyeon of Girls’ Generation, Red Velvet, Zico of Block B, GFriend, BTS, BewhY, Akdong Musician, Mamamoo, and EXO. The Best Music Video went to Red Velvet, and the Music Style Award winners were Zico for Rap&Hip Hop, Apink's Eunji for Ballad, G-Friend and EXO for Dance, Ha Hyan Yoo for Rock, 10cm for Folk, Yoon Mi Rae for Original Sound Track, Hong Jin Young for Trot, Justin Bieber for Pop, and Bolbbalgan4 for Indie. In other categories, EXO won the Netizen Choice Award, Zixo won the Hot Trend Award, the Best Songwriter was awarded to Bang Si Hyuk, the MBC Music Star Award went to Seventeen, the QQ Music Asia Star Award was given to IKON, the KaKao Hot Star Award to EXO, and finally, the Hall of Fame Award was won by Sechskies.

Congratulations to all the winners, and good luck to an even more successful 2017.





When a Snail Falls in Love - 如果蜗牛有爱情

Starring Wang Kai and Wang Zi Wen

Add to Queue Remove from Queue Watch Now