The 53rd annual Baeksang Arts Awards, Korea's version of America's Golden Globes, was just held in Seoul, and all the stars came out to celebrate the best in film and television from 2016. We've got a list of all the winners right here on Dramafever, plus some photos from one of the biggest nights in Korean entertainment. 

Literally just hours ago, the prestigious Baeksang Arts Awards took place at the COEX Convention and Exhibition Center in Seoul, where one star after another graced the red carpet for hundreds of fans and photographers waiting to catch a glimpse. This year, the show was hosted by none other than Suzy and actor Park Joong Hoon. With a number of megabit TV dramas and films, 2016 was another great year for fans and stars alike. For this specific awards show, the awards given out were divided between film and television. So who came out on top? The winners in each category are listed below, along with some photos of the ceremony itself and from the red carpet prior to the show.

As we look forward to more amazing shows and movies in 2017, let's take another moment to look back on and celebrate all the great performances, shows, and feature films of last year, as recognized by judges and fans (for a few categories) of the Baeksang Arts Awards.

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!

And the stars arrive . . .

Park Bo Gum

Kim Go Eun

Kim Ji Soo

See Hyun Jin

Ji Chang Wook

Park Bo Young

Lee Byung Hun

Park Shin Hye

Jo Jung Suk

Kim Yoo Jung

Son Ye Jin

Big winners Handmaiden and Goblin

Park Bo Gum accepting his for Star Century Popularity Award in the Television category

Kim Yoo Jung wins for Female Star Century Popularity Award

Tribute during the ceremony to Kim Young Ae

Winners in Film:

Grand Award – Park Chan Wook for The Handmaiden

Best FilmThe Wailing

Best Director -Kim Ji Woon for The Age of Shadows

Best New Director – Yeon Sang Ho for Train to Busan

Best Actor – Sang Kang Ho for The Age of Shadows

Best Actress – Son Ye Jin for The Last Princess

Best Supporting Actor – Kim Ui Seong for Train to Busan

Best Supporting Actress -Kim So Jin for The King

Best New Actor – Ryu Jun Yeol for The King

Best New Actress – Lee Sang Hee for Our Love Story

Best Screenplay – Yoon Ga Eun for The World of Us

Male Popularity Award – Do Kyung Soo from EXO for My Annoying Brother

Female Popularity Award – YoonA from Girls’ Generation for Confidential Assignment

Winners in Television:

Grand Award – Kim Eun Sook for Goblin

Best TV Drama –  Dear My Friends

Best Entertainment ProgramMy Ugly Duckling

Best Educational/Cultural Show War of Words

Best Director – Yoo In Sik for Doctor Romantic

Best Actor – Gong Yoo for Goblin

Best Actress – See Hyun Jin for Another Oh Hae Young

Best New Actor – Kim Min Suk  for Doctor Crush

Best New ActressLee Se Young for Laurel Tree Tailors

Best Screenplay – No Hee Kyung for Dear My Friends

Best Male Variety Star  – Yang Se Hyung for Moby Dick Yang Se Hyung’s Short-Review

Best Female Variety Star  – Park Na Rae for I Live Alone

Male Popularity Award – Park Go Bum for Moonlight Drawn by Clouds

Female Popularity Award – Kim Yoo Jung for Moonlight Drawn by Clouds

Best Style Award – Kim Ha Nuel for On the Way to the Airport

Lifetime Achievement Award – Kim Young Ae


My Secret Romance

Starring Sung Hoon and Song Ji Eun

Add to Queue Remove from Queue Watch Now