A logo gives an easily identified image for an organization or company, and it can affect the perception of the entire entity. So when the South Korean government announced a new national insignia, it's a big event, especially when it is the first time in 67 years that the nation has installed a new logo.

On March 16, the Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism Kim Jong-deok (left) and Vice Minister of the Interior Kim Sung-ryul (right) officially unveiled the Republic of Korea's new logo at a ceremony held in Seoul.

The previous logo, based on a hibiscus flower, is replaced by the new image which is a swirling variation of the taegeuk circle of yin and yang on the Korean national flag, in the same color scheme of red, white, and blue.

(Flag of the Republic of Korea)

(New logo)

According to the government's announcement, the new logo conveys the dynamism and enthusiasm of Korea. The Korean text below the logo (for "The Government of the Republic of Korea") is printed in a typeface inspired by the font used in the "Hunminjeongeum" book, or "The Correct/Proper Sounds for the Instruction of the People" that was published in 1446, when King Sejong implemented a new written language called Hangul.

Taegeuk, a philosophical term describing the concept of a supreme and ultimate state of infinity and oneness, from which the circle of yin and yang sprang to symbolize perfect harmony, originated in ancient China. In the West it is commonly referred to as Taiji or Taichi. Taoism, a spiritual belief in harmony and ethical living that expanded on the concept of Taiji, spread to the Korean peninsula as early as in China's Han dynasty (206 BC - 220 AD).

Although the previous logo has been in use since 1949, many government branches have also developed their own logos. The new unified logo, to be used by the entire government, will reduce budget waste and improve efficiency, according to the South Korean government.

The new logo is the result of an initiative started a year ago, and it will be used by all 22 ministries and 51 central government agencies starting in May, after relevant laws are amended.

~ NancyZdramaland

Source via: 123

(Photo/image credit as referenced or as tagged)